RSS

My Heros, beloved father and brother

15 Mar

I grew up in small family with one sister – 6 years older than me, and one brother who was 3 years older than me. I was always a daddys girl and was with my dad no matter what he was doing. Later, as I was nearing my teens, I always said I wanted to be just like my brother Danny. Much to our mothers chagrin, I came very close to doing just that, and wouldn’t have changed any of it.
continue on for video §

My brother died in Jan 2006 after a devastating 7 month fight with the coward cancer, at the much too young to die age of 50 years and 20 days.
I lost my beloved earthly father in Sept 2008.
I dream of them constantly, and I cherish those dreams.

Hold on to your loved ones for they will be taken in the blink of an eye and it will be too late to say the things you always meant to say.

This movie got messed up somehow! Looks like 2 of my movies are now converged into one. Rather than fix them, I will leave it as it is.

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

5 responses to “My Heros, beloved father and brother

  1. MountainHigh

    October 22, 2011 at 2:07 pm

    I miss you so much dad and Danny. I feel alone in this harsh world without you guys to stand behind me. Always and forever, daughter and sister, Sandy

     
  2. Danna Crawford

    December 5, 2009 at 5:54 pm

    Hello, sending you the biggest virtual hug that I can send right now.
    I can totally relate how you feel with the exception of your brother. That I can only imagine the pain with your loss. But for the loss of your father, I can relate 100%.

    I am an only child and my dad was my hero and held the key to my heart. He passed at the young age of 61 in 2007 and not a day goes by without feeling his love close-by.
    He held my hand and gave me a final kiss, seconds before he said goodbye and went home with the Lord and I knew that I knew, I would see him again one day and that we are here for such a short amount of time and yes, we will all be together again one day. SO that is what keeps me going!
    To know that this life is only a temporary thing and that we will be united with our family once again. So, this is what makes it ok for me and helps me to get on from day to day. Cause I know my daddy is cheering me on to be the best I can be and he will be ready for me with open arms when my time comes. Meanwhile, I will do my best and be kind and learn as each day goes by.

    While my heart was breaking during my dads final days, I had Hospice by my side and they helped my mother and my children get through the ordeal of it all.

    The Hospice I am supporting is located here in Ocala FL in Marion County. If there is anything I can do for you, please don’t hesitate to let me know.

    Blessings,
    Danna
    Psalms 91:11

     
    • MountainHigh

      December 5, 2009 at 7:00 pm

      Hi Danna,
      thank you for coming to my blog.
      Your comments brought tears to my eyes when reading of your last days with your dad. I felt I was there with you, but holding my dads hand. As you, I too know I will see my beloved dad again, and my brother, but sometimes I truly wish the wait was over. Sometimes it is just so hard getting by from day to day. I pretty much am a loner. People have never turned out to be what I thought they were. I do regret my self-imposed seclusion sometimes.
      I don’t support Hospice, not around here anyway. Yes, they were there shortly after dad died. After all, they had to be, by law, because of his medicine and stuff. But they were also the ones that tried to get me to sign papers to NOT provide my dad with any type of life saving tactics when it came time. Of course my mom and sister were against me in this, but I refused to sign and suggested the hospice rep leave, fast. She was talking about not trying to keep my dad, my hero, my friend, alive. They may be good for some things, or in some places. But I don’t want them in my life again.
      God bless you,
      Sandara

       

Leave a Reply

