RSS

Community Acquired [CAP]Pneumonia

26 Oct

Community Acquired Pneumonia [CAP] refers to pneumonia acquired outside of hospitals or extended-care facilities. Community acquired pneumonia is an infectious disease unlike pneumonia as most people think of ‘Pneumonia’. CAP Pneumonia is a major cause of mortality worldwide

Community Acquired Pneumonia [CAP] is a severe infection of the lungs and can occur as a result of a bacteria or virus. The disease attacks air sacs and causes fluid buildup. Community Acquired Pneumonia [CAP] is usually acquired by inhalation. Unlike pneumonia that is acquired by patients in hospitals or bedfast patients, CAP Pneumonia is acquired by being around someone else with CAP Pneumonia. As typical with the cold and flu germ, it is acquired by being around some one that has CAP Pneumonia and are coughing, sneezing, or by eating or drinking after someone that has CAP -Community Acquired Pneumonia [or a drinking fountain!]. People with underlying ailments such as bronchitis or a lowered immune system, are  more susceptible to CAP Pneumonia.
Abnormal physical findings are confined to the chest in patients with typical bacterial CAP.

MY EXPERIENCE WITH COMMUNITY ACQUIRED PNEUMONIA [CAP]

I developed a raging fever ranging between 103 and 104 degrees [F]. For the next several days I fought this fever with ice bags on my forehead, Tylenol, Motrin, Theraflu, or Severe Flu meds every 2 hours! I could not get my temperature below 100!
My body ached all over! I couldn’t get comfortable in any position no matter where I tried to rest. Of course when my fever was raging I was literally passed out -from the fever.
One morning at about 2:00 AM I woke up and was freezing, I was shaking from head to foot, teeth chattering, shallow breathing, so sick, I could barely walk. Larry took my temperature and it was again 102°. Later that day I noticed that my lungs were hurting. I could  maneuver around a little and get into position so my lungs wouldn’t hurt. I didn’t cough a whole lot, but when I did it felt like a knife in my chest.
Now when my lungs started hurting I got scared. [so much cancer in a family will do that] So I finally went to the ER where a series of tests were run. Of course their main concern was my fever too, so they concentrated on that first. A series of blood tests, flu swabs, and chest x rays revealed the culprit -Community Acquired Pneumonia! Other wise known as CAP pneumonia. I can remember one other time that I’ve been that sick, but that is another story I’ll tell one day.
I was put on some serious antibiotics, hospital, IV’s, Tylenol every 4 hours and Motrin every 6 hours to keep my fever down. WOW! What a ride! But I don’t think I want to take it again!
Now my fever is under control and I can feel my body getting better, but I am left so weak. But I was told to expect that, and that I would do a lot of sleeping and resting for the next few days. They were right about that! I have been so wrung out and weak that I couldn’t do anything after I got home. This is the first time I’ve done anything on the computer in over a week. I guess I’d better get some of those Ebay orders ready!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 26, 2010 in Life On Paradise Mountain

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Community Acquired [CAP]Pneumonia

  1. Asia Europe Team

    December 12, 2010 at 5:38 am

    All this I did not know yet. Very interesting theme! Thank you.

     
  2. Heinz-Herman Adam

    November 14, 2010 at 2:29 pm

    Eating or enjoying 100 grams (8 tbsp. ) from sugar, the equivalent of about two cans of soft drink, can reduce the power of white blood skin cells to kill germs just by forty percent. The immune-suppressing effect of sugar starts lower than thirty minutes after ingestion and will last for five hours. In contrast, the ingestion of complex carbohydrates, as well as starches, has no relation to the immune system.

     

Leave a Reply

